EXCLUSIVE! ROB ZOMBIE TALKS NEW TOUR + DRUMMER

The DLB recently spoke with multitasking mad man Rob Zombie about numerous subjects, including his upcoming summer tour, new drummer Ginger Fish, working with friend and comedian Tom Papa, and his next film, The Lords of Salem. Here is is updating us on the tour and Fish. Look for more Part 2 of our conversation soon.

You’re touring Europe soon and then North America with Slayer and Exodus. Is that the best way to spend the summer?

Well, I don’t know if it’s the best way, but it seems to be the only way. That’s the way every summer seems to pan out. Last summer I spent all summer touring with Korn on the Mayhem Tour so I guess it wouldn’t be a summer if I wasn’t losing some hearing.

Have you made many significant changes to the stage show since you last toured for Hellbilly Deluxe 2?

It’s always changing, it’s always evolving. I sort of get confused, like which stage show is on which tour. But every tour we add stuff so, yeah, it’s always different.

You’ll be playing the Heavy T.O. show in July as well as various metal festivals in Europe. Does the ongoing success of metal festivals give you hope for the future of music, if not the music business itself?

I guess. I don’t know. Sometimes it’s kind of a bummer, but there’s always hope for everything. I was kind of hoping when Rock Band, the video game, was really popular that was going to [instigate] a resurgence of kids discovering guitars and music like that. Maybe it was, you know. So I hope so.

You recently hired Ginger Fish from Marilyn Manson’s band. How did that come about and why did you want him?

It just kind of came up by accident, really. John’s been with me now for six years maybe, and when we were getting ready to go to Europe a couple of months ago for our shows in England and Australia with [Slipknot’s] Joey Jordison on drums, there was a confusion with management about when The Murderdolls were playing. [The Murderdolls is Jordison’s band with Wednesday 13.] So we realized that Joey actually had dates scheduled when we needed to rehearse. So like, shit, we need a drummer. I mean Joey did all the shows, but we need somebody to sit in and play drums while we rehearse.

So John said, ‘Well, I just talked to Ginger the other day. He’s sittin’ around doing nothing. I’m sure he’ll do it.’ And that’s really how it started. We just called Ginger, he was just coming in to jam with us just so there’d be a drumbeat, and we did a couple of tiny, secret club shows just to warm up, but that was pretty much the end of it.

And then because Joey was never sure what he was doing, he’s like ‘I’m not sure what’s going to happen with Slipknot right now,’ and that was kind of going on back and forth. But then it became apparent that Slipknot was going to do shows and that that would conflict and Joey would have to do those shows and we would have to find a drummer. At that point Ginger just seemed like the logical person because we’d played with him, he was great, he wasn’t in Manson anymore. He was just sittin’ around, hanging around the house so it was perfect.

Are you still signed to Roadrunner?

I’m not signed to anything at the moment. I only owed Roadrunner one album [2010’s Hellbilly Deluxe 2]. I mean I may re-sign with them, I may sign with someone else. It’s just nice to not be signed to anybody. I’ve been signed to people for 20 years so it’s nice to have the option of changing my mind if I want to.

I assume new Rob Zombie music is on the backburner for now?

Well, we’re working on it slowly, which is kind of the good way to do it, and then once the movie is done we’ll really get into it next year. But we’re slowly working on stuff all the time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

