ROB ZOMBIE, PART 2: ROB TALKS ABOUT “THE LORDS OF SALEM”

In Part 2 of my interview with Rob Zombie, Rob discusses working with FX wizard Wayne Toth on his upcoming film The Lords of Salem and the film’s origins.

You’ll be filming Lords of Salem soon, and Wayne Toth, who worked on both Halloween films and House of 1000 Corpses, is doing your FX on that show. Can we expect some sick practical effects work?

Yeah, Wayne’s already started working. There’s a lot of effects so there’s a very long lead time so he started way ahead of everybody else. Yeah, he’s come up with some crazy shit, man, I’ll tell you that much.

You also worked with comedian Tom Papa on a Comedy Central special recently, and of course Tom voiced “El Superbeasto” in The Haunted World of El Superbeasto (2009). How did you meet Tom and what is it about his humour that you like so much?

I met Tom at a wedding. It was funny. We were at a wedding in Massachusetts, and that’s actually where the whole thing for Lords of Salem started, too. I was at a wedding, I was kind of bored, I bought a book in the lobby of the hotel about the Salem witch trials, and I was just reading while I was there and that kind of gave me the idea.

Met Tom, started talking to Tom, we kind of hit it off. I went to see him play, went to dinner, which was about six years ago. Been friends ever since. I just think Tom’s a hilarious comedian. I think he’s very funny, a good guy, and what he wanted to do with this comedy special sounded very interesting to me because he wanted to do something that seemed very old school. He wanted it to look something in the vein of Richard Pryor Live on the Sunset Strip. He didn’t want to it look like all the modern Comedy Central stuff. So we sort of did a modern version of that.

2 Responses to “ROB ZOMBIE, PART 2: ROB TALKS ABOUT “THE LORDS OF SALEM””

  1. Jazzmeaner Says:

    Awesome interview with Rob Zombie! http://bit.ly/lW2MXN

  2. This is #1 on my most anticipated for 2012. The wait is murder!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

