EXCLUSIVE! THE DLB TALKS TO “SUPER 8” STAR JOEL COURTNEY

Super 8's Joel Courtney

 

The Dark Lord Bunnykins spoke yesterday to Joel Courtney, one of the young stars of J.J. Abrams’ monster movie Super 8, about a creature who escapes from a military train and the kids who seek out the truth about what it is. Here are some excerpts from that conversation:

On the camaraderie on screen between all the kids in “Super 8.” “We got along as brothers, really. Throughout the entire audition process, over the entire summer, so halfway through the audition process, Zack [Mills] showed up and then Ryan [Lee] and then Riley [Griffiths] and then Elle [Fanning] and then Gabe [Basso], in that order. So when they started coming back I thought, ‘This is a really good thing that they keep showing up,’ and I really like it. So we went into the movie being really good friends, halfway through we were best friends… and then we came out being brothers.”

 

Courtney with co-star Elle Fanning

On meeting producer Steven Spielberg:

“I was like, ‘Dude, don’t look now.’ Steven Spielberg turned around. I’m like, ‘Don’t look!’ It was just really ridiculous, and I was super-excited to meet him. I wasn’t punch-drunk, but that’s the closest I’ve ever been to being star-struck. Then he met us and told us we were doing a really good job on the movie and gave us some advice. It was really cool to meet him.

 

On Spielberg and Abrams as inspirations:

“J.J. was a bigger inspiration to me, but Steven inspired J.J. to do movies, and J.J. was one of my inspirations to do movies. So in a way Steven was an inspiration to me.”

 

On avoiding fellow actor Kyle Chandler who plays Joel’s dad:

“I kind of made that decision because throughout the entire scene because we know there’s a kind of separation between our two characters. So I didn’t make a separation between us two in real life, but I didn’t talk to him because I had the gut feeling that if I got to know him, I would really like him and then it would be that much harder to play a separation between our two characters. So I kind of stayed away from him until the end of the film, and then I was right. I got to know him and he’s a really cool guy.”

 

Super 8 opens June 10.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

