EXCLUSIVE! DOMINIC COOPER ON “ABRAHAM LINCOLN: VAMPIRE HUNTER”

Dominic Cooper stars in THE DEVIL'S DOUBLE.

The Dark Lord Bunnykins had the chance this afternoon to speak to Dominic Cooper, the British star of the upcoming “gangster” film The Devil’s Double. Cooper, who can currently be seen on screens as Iron Man’s daddy Howard Stark in Captain America: The First Avenger, plays both Uday Hussein, Saddam’s psychopathic son, and his double, Latif Yahia, who spent years in real life doubling as Uday in case of assassination attempts.

Cooper also has a key role in the upcoming horror-action film Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. Scheduled for release June 22, 2012, it’s based on the mash-up novel by Seth Grahame-Smith, who also wrote the screenplay. Cooper plays Henry Sturges, the vampire who taught Lincoln everything he knows about vampire hunting. Timur Bekhambetov (Wanted, Nightwatch) directs and Tim Burton produces.

 

What is the tone of the film and what was it like working in Louisiana?

I haven’t quite worked out what the tone is yet of the film. I hope Timur knows. He makes movie action sequences so incredibly well. You have that mixed with Tim Burton’s mind – he’s producing. You have a film about one of the most incredible men in American history who stabilized that country and stopped it falling into ruins, and his poetry and his quotes and his ideals alongside vampires (laughs) in costumes from that period, doing amazing fight sequences. And it’s very emotional. So tonally I have no idea, but there’s something in all that that I think could be quite magical.

Louisiana, New Orleans is an insane place. It was absolutely wonderful. Beautiful people; lovely, happy environment in which to work, but I had to leave, otherwise I was going to turn into a doughnut.

Too much gumbo?

So much gumbo.

Are you a horror fan?

One my favourite films that has always stuck with me is The Shining. But I don’t know whether I choose to go and see a lot [of horror films]. In fact I think it’s just because I’m so terrified! (laughs) When I see horror films, I think, ‘Why am I putting myself through this?’ And even though I work on film sets and understand how it’s made, I’m just terrified. This is not a nice experience. I’m just covering my eyes.

The Devil’s Double opens in Toronto August 5; Vancouver and Montreal August 12.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

