A SAD DAY FOR RUE MORGUE READERS, A HAPPY DAY FOR A FRIEND

FanTasia 2008 018

The DLB & Jovanka

The DLB has been a proud friend of Rue Morgue editor-in-chief Jovanka Vuckovic for several years, so we were saddened to hear about her departure from the magazine. That said, we were happier to hear about the impending birth of her own little bundle of evil and are excited to follow her future artistic endeavours. Here is an official statement from her Facebook page:
Dear Rue Morgue Readers,

After seven years as Editor of Rue Morgue Magazine, the time has come for me to move on. I worked very hard to make the magazine the best it could possibly be the entire time I was there and I’m proud of my contribution to it and the status I helped elevate it to. But a career in journalism has never been a goal of mine. It was an interesting detour, that’s for sure, but I have always been a writer and an artist and have had a strong desire to follow my instinct to create. I am excited to return to my creative roots and look forward to announcing my upcoming projects in film, television and print. I can’t wait to tell you about some of the exciting collaborations I have in the works as well.

In the meantime, I am currently focusing on my most creative and challenging endeavour to date: the birth of my first child, which is currently growing in my womb. Yes, you read that right, I’m pregnant! It’s an exciting and very happy time for my fiancee and I. We couldn’t be more thrilled.

That said, rest assured, I am not abandoning horror, I’m merely taking a break to refocus and return with a vengeance and do what I’ve longed to do since before I started at the magazine: contribute creatively to the genre I love so much.

If any of you want to keep in touch, I’ll be launching a new website soon, which will have updates on my creative projects as well as a blog where I’ll be posting about the body horrors of pregnancy. 😉 I hope to see you reading it. You can find me at:

http://www.jovankavuckovic.com (Coming Soon)
Obviously here at Facebook and
http://www.myspace.com/jovankavuckovic
http://www.twitter.com/jovankavuckovic

Feel free to drop me a line here or at my website and stay in touch. I’ve always loved to hear from the readers. You guys are the reason I kept going for so long. I wish I could have said goodbye in my editorial, but sometimes things don’t work out the way you’d like them to. I’m truly grateful for all the wonderful people I’ve met and the readers I’ve corresponded with on this journey. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again: without you, there would be no Rue Morgue.

I hope to see you all on the other side.

Much love and respect,
Jovanka Vuckovic

CollectingHearts

2 Responses to “A SAD DAY FOR RUE MORGUE READERS, A HAPPY DAY FOR A FRIEND”

  1. Aw, Sean. Thank you for thinking of me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

