EXCLUSIVE! GUILLERMO DEL TORO TALKS REVISED “MIMIC”

With Rue Morgue Magazine set to screen the Director’s Cut of Guillermo Del Toro’s Mimic tomorrow night (Sept. 15) at 9:30 at Toronto’s Underground Cinema as part of their monthly Cinemacabre screening night, the DLB figured it was time to bust out more of his conversation with Mr. Del Toro, this time regarding Mimic.

The director’s cut of Mimic comes out September 27 on DVD and Blu-ray. How does this version compare to what the studio released?

“Well, it was the only movie I was not able to say I liked. You may like or dislike my movies in varying degrees, but I am personally comfortable liking them all because I love them. I loved what I tried to do on this one or that one, and Mimic was the only one that I didn’t feel completely happy about. Now I am. Now I feel very happy.

I took out a couple of the scares that I didn’t like that were done in second unit. I was able to get rid of most of the stuff that I didn’t like that came from second unit, and I tried to… I unfortunately cannot show you the movie I would have done, because you can read the screenplay online you get a little bit of a hint of that, but the ending was much darker but we never shot it. So I have to sort of stay with the ending we have.

But other than that I cleaned the stuff I didn’t like, and I feel much more comfortable with it now. I like it now.”

Guillermo Del Toro will participate in a Q&A about Mimic at the screening so be sure to show up early for a seat.


Leave a Reply

