EXCL: UNDERWORLD: AWAKENING STAR KATE BECKINSALE TALKS SELENE, SEQUEL, TOTAL RECALL: PART TWO

Underworld: Awakening opens in theatres today, so as a release day treat, here is part two the Dark Lord Bunnykins’ chat with lead actress Kate Beckinsale:

 

Regarding Selene, what is about her that you like and does she serve any particular function for you as an actress, like getting out your aggression for instance?

No, not really. I do think I’m attracted to female roles that are kind of empowering and interesting and complicated, in whatever kind of movie, whether it’s a comedy… I think it’s important to have those criteria to make it interesting for yourself, or drama or whatever. It just happens to be in a genre movie. But that genre tends to also be one of the few that really does celebrate an empowered woman. So it’s not necessarily something that I want to only do, and I wouldn’t only want to do a comedy for the rest of my life either, but the fact that I get to play these kind of women I think is very attractive.

Selene has become an iconic action and horror character. To what do you attribute her ongoing popularity?

It’s hard to say. I’m playing her, but I think she’s quite wounded. She’s a very vulnerable soul, actually. But certainly in the first movie she was so frozen emotionally that she was almost like a machine, and one of the things that’s been interesting about doing sequels is that we’ve been able to expand that and dig into what’s underneath that. It makes for a more rounded character.

For an action hero, she’s actually quite emotional, quite vulnerable, but she also has these kind of extremely efficient capabilities with killing people and defending herself! I’m not sure. It’s hard for me because I’m analyzing what I’m feeling about a character that I’m playing to other people. I can only really say what’s interesting to me.

Your directors have left the door open for more Underworld films. At this point how do you feel about the possibility of playing Selene in a fourth film?

I guess it depends on the same things as before. Is it a story that’s really worth telling? Is it a story that’s interesting to people? I’m not completely closed to it by any means, but I don’t tend to think about it until it comes up as a real possibility

 

Finally, you also have Total Recall coming out this year. What can audiences expect in terms of tone from that film, and describe your character Lori a bit?

Obviously they’ve used the original film version as a kind of jumping-off point as much as they’ve used the short story [“We Can Remember It For You Wholesale”] as a jumping-off point. The short story and the original film are very different in tone actually, so I think that the particular tone of the first movie was very much specific to the filmmaker [Paul Verhoeven] rather than to the writer of the story [Philip K. Dick]. So it certainly isn’t that tone, and I think that’s a little bit more of tone that was reflective of the period of time in which the film was made. This time it’s a little bit more realistic, a little bit more gritty, a little bit less tongue-in-cheek, I think. And yet it’s very much a fun movie, but I think the interesting thing about it is it does deal with that question of ‘who am I?’ and ‘what is reality anyway?’ which I do think is very fascinating. And my character is an amalgamation of Sharon Stone’s part and the part as written. She’s not exactly the same. Yes, barebones I’m playing Quaid’s wife who turns out to be a little bit more than meets the eye, but it is quite different.

 

 

2 Responses to “EXCL: UNDERWORLD: AWAKENING STAR KATE BECKINSALE TALKS SELENE, SEQUEL, TOTAL RECALL: PART TWO”

  1. Hopefully it turns out alright. I liked the first one quite a bit, the others were a bit lacking in my opinion though.

  2. leica objektive…

    […]EXCL: UNDERWORLD: AWAKENING STAR KATE BECKINSALE TALKS SELENE, SEQUEL, TOTAL RECALL: PART TWO « Dark Lord Bunnykins's Blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

